You may have entered a patient twice or mistakenly entered a patient into ThoroughCare. That's OK, we can delete them. Keep in mind, Deleting and Inactivating a patient are completely different.

How to inactivate a patient

Note: Only Admins have the ability to delete patients

To delete a patient, navigate to the ThoroughCare dashboard. Find the patient by searching by the first name, last name, or EHR ID.

On the Patient Search Results screen, find the patient you want to enroll and select their name, EHR ID, or "View" button under the "Actions" column.

When on the patient page click the "Edit Patient" button located in the upper right hand corner.

Once the "Edit Patient" pop-up appears scroll to the very bottom of the page.

If you are sure you would like to delete this patient click "Delete".

A warning pop-up will appear on your screen. If you are completely sure you wish to delete the patient click "Delete".

Note: Whenever you delete a patient you will lose all information linked to that patient's chart.

You will receive one final warning making sure you would like to delete. Click "OK" to proceed.

If you happen to have submitted claims for your patient you will be unable to move forward with deleting the patient. In-case of an audit you would need all documented information for the claims you have submitted for this patient.

If the patient has no submitted claims and was successfully submitted you will receive a confirmation that the patient has been deleted in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

For more information on deleting patients, not discussed in this article, chat with a ThoroughCare professional by clicking the blue chat bubble in the bottom right hand corner of every ThoroughCare screen!

Did this answer your question?