To start managing a patient's mental health within the BHI program a user/care manager must first obtain patient consent to BHI services. As users may notice this consent process is very similar to that of CCM consent. The consent documentation is covered in this article.

On the ThoroughCare Dashboard, search for the target patient that is to be enrolled by selecting the search bar at the top of the page. Users can search by patient First Name, Last Name, or EHR ID number.

On the Patient Search Results screen, select the target patient by clicking their name, EHR ID, or "View" button under the "Actions" column.

Beginning BHI Enrollment:

From the patient view page, navigate to the "BHI" section underneath the "Programs" tab.

Once viewing the patient's BHI status, select the blue "Not Enrolled" or the "Enroll" button to start the enrollment documentation.

Once clicked a "BHI Enrollment Status" pop-up will appear on screen. Proceed to click the "Change enrollment status" drop-down.

To make a patient active in the BHI program a user must select the "Active" option. Click to select.

Notice that after the enrollment status is changed to "Active", a new enrollment documentation section will appear below.

First, fill out the patient consent check boxes highlighted in the screenshot below. The user should confirm that the patient:

  • Agrees to participate in BHI

  • Understands that there may be a copay

  • Understands they can cancel BHI

  • Information can be shared with other providers

  • Understands that only one practitioner can bill for BHI

Click the small checkbox to the left of the items to confirm consent.

Next, mark whether consent is "Verbal" or "Written", click the radio button to select.

Confirm the "Updated by" and "Start Date" are correct to by who and when enrollment was completed.

Finally, to add a small note to enrollment click the text box located underneath "Note".

When enrollment is completed and documented correctly, click the "Save" button at the bottom of the page.

Once the enrollment status is changed make sure the status change has populated on the patient view page. Users should see the date chosen listed underneath the "Enroll Date" and the "Active" status change below "Enrollment status".

For more information on enrolling patients in BHI, not discussed in this article, chat with a ThoroughCare professional by clicking the blue chat bubble in the bottom right hand corner of every ThoroughCare screen!

Did this answer your question?